Florida Auctioneer License Requirements
In the United States, auctions are regulated on a state by state basis. The Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) which is a general “code of commerce” serves as the basis for auction law and has been drafted, by many states, into their license law. Auctioneers in states that do not have a license law are required to follow UCC guidelines (Louisiana by analogy).
Auction School: Florida board of auctioneers does not maintain a list of approved schools; each applicant provides their training when applying for license.
State Auction License Required: Yes.
State License Required for Online-Only Auctions: Contact the Florida Board of Auctioneers for questions regarding online auctions.
Minimum Age: 18 years old.
School/ Apprenticeship Required: Yes.
Bonding/ Insurance: $100 to Recovery Fund surcharge.
Licensing Period: Two years, expires November 30th of odd years.
Continuing Education Required: No.
Fees: Exam $250, Application $50, License $150.
Reciprocity: AL, AR, GA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MS, NH, NC, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV, WI
State Auctioneers Association: www.floridaauctioneers.org
State Real Estate Contact: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/real-estate-commission
State Agency Contact:
Florida Board of Auctioneers
2601 Blair Stone Rd.
Tallahassee, FL 32399
*Courtesy in part of: The National Auctioneers Association
Auctioneer License Requirements by State
In the United States, auctioneer license requirements vary from state to state. Please visit our Auctioneer License Requirements by State page for additional licensing laws and auction resources for each state.